O’Keefe-like

We purchased a new little camera (Canon G10) recently with intent to carry it with us when ever we are out and about.  I’ve been tinkering around with it to learn its buttons and menus since they are quite different from the ones on our Nikons.  I wanted to learn about using the G10 with off-camera flash so I rigged it up with a PocketWizard and set a Nikon SB-800 flash off to the side of a blooming Christmas cactus.  I put the camera on a Gorrilapod, hooked up the little Canon remote cable release and started playing.

 

The image above was shot with manual exposure control, ISO 200, f/2.8, 0.4 seconds; macro mode.   One of my goals is to be able to pack all this stuff into a small fanny pack for hikes that can occur more spontaneously yet give us the ability to bring home images of which we’ll be proud.  While I know a few things I’d do differently (and will) this image gives me a lot of faith in the camera.  Now to work on my ability to use it well.

Leave a Reply

