A clean sensor is a beautiful thing

After spending too much time chasing dust around the camera’s sensor I finally succeeded in fully cleaning the sensor and mirror chamber of my camera yesterday.  Usually this operation doesn’t take me too long but it seems that I’d gotten one of the filaments from the Artic Butterfly sensor brush caught in a slot near the sensor.  It would not dislodge with blown air.  It stuck tight when brushed with the same brush that caused the problem in the first place.  It clung on even when I tried to use a swab to dislodge it.  Hanging just above the sensor this fiendish filament presented me with a challenge and a great opportunity to totally screw up the camera.  Tweezers?  Olive picker?  Live with it?  I could not stand the thought of putting a metal point any where near the sensor so I ended up taking a small “corner swab” and bending it into a sort of “J” to hook under the filament.  After a few minutes of maneuvering around I succeeded in getting the rascal out of the chamber.  After that it was a simple task to get rid of any residual dust.

I also cleaned the camera body, frequently used lenses and all filters.  There I sat with a table of clean gear and a sense that all was once again in alignment.  I took the tripod apart one leg at a time and removed all the sand that had succeeded in migrating into the working parts.  The leg tension got adjusted and the ball head was cleaned.

Wow… a whole set of clean gear.  What to do now?  Go to the Japanese Garden to see what colors might still be in place.  I wanted to continue to play with the “motion” theme I started at the beach.  It was a bright sunny sky but the air was calm.  I put the vari-ND filter on and headed for the waterfall pond.  After waiting about 20 minutes to get to a vantage that allowed me to shoot into a fairly uniformly lit scene I began experimenting with different densities and exposure durations.  The following images are both taken from the same file.  Only the crop is different.  While the effect won’t work for everyone, I enjoy the movement as contrasted to the stationary rocks and calm leaves.  I like the linkage of the movement in the waterfall to that in the pond.  If you have a reaction to either the effect or the crop I’d appreciate you leaving a comment to let me know your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “A clean sensor is a beautiful thing

  1. Bruce, wow, what a difference a crop can make! While I’m no expert in waterfall photography, I am partial to the second crop. The primary reason is that the top part of the falls is more interesting to me than the bottom part and that red bush up above the falls is just too pretty to cut out. That splash of red really rounds out the colors in this image. I agree with you about the linkage between the movement of the leaves to that of the stationary rocks, water, and foliage. Quite striking!

    1. Thanks for the nice comment Dennis. Since I am red green colorblind the tree at the top really does not play into my appreciation of the scene. I do listen to Dianne who serves a valued role as a color consultant and QA/QC for me and the tree is there as the result. She had a very similar reaction to yours. Thanks again for stopping to look and comment.

Leave a Reply

