Blog header

I try to freshen up the header for this blog on occasion and try to shoot with that purpose in mind when a situation seems to say “long and skinny” in terms of composition.  The image of the cranes flying by at Ridgefield National Wildlife Refuge was one such opportunity.  Usually I reject shots like this that have what I call “mergers”.. when one or more birds overlap each other.  I got 6 decent shots of this group but every one of them has at least one merger.  If I didn’t love the quality of the birds and clouds and the ridgeline pattern below them I’d reject this one too.  But there are enough interesting characteristics in the photo for me to keep it and use it as my header… at least for a bit.

Leave a Reply

