Searching, searching…

There have been sightings of snowy owls at Ridgefield National Wildlife Refuge, Albany, Corvallis and the Washington coast.  I’m told that these birds venture south when their food base is slim in their normal territories.  I’ve seen some great shots of the birds and figured I’d never get a better chance to see one and, hopefully, get a photo or two.  My friend Eric is staying close to home since his first child is due any time now… late actually. So I took off in the dark of the morning and went to Ridgefield alone. I missed the conversation and company.

I drove the first lap mostly alone and mostly in dull to dark light.  I was looking for the owl and as I approached the 3 Trees area on the east side of Rest Lake I knew that this was the most likely spot to see the bird.  They even had a map with the owl sightings shown stapled to the check in station.  No owl.  But what I did see when I put the binocs on the lake was a massive amount of geese, maybe a hundred swans and a small group of cranes hanging in the brush on the far side. I figured I’d wait for the geese to lift off and hope for sun on my back when they did.  Well, no sun but the geese did come off in fairly large groups.  I was hoping an eagle would fly over and bring them all up at once but, no eagle.  Anyone who has shot with me at Ridgefield knows that I really want an artsy shot of massive numbers of birds lifting off.  One of these days I’ll get it.  For now, here are two shots that show today’s action.

It may help if you try to sound like a bunch of excited geese.

I tried a new perspective on the same oak tree that was posted lately.  I’m thinking that I’m going to end up with a collection of views of this tree before it is all said and done.

Leave a Reply

