Me and the Ridgefield birds

We finished up the images of our latest ballerina shoot (post to come soon) and got our tax info ready for the accountant.  To celebrate I headed for Ridgefield and Dianne headed for a run and a massage.  It felt a bit off to not have Eric along for the excursion… or Dianne or Carol… or about anyone.  I knew that I’d be able to mosey at will and I did just that.

It’s spring at Ridgefield and I saw the first signs of leafing on some of the bushes.  The birds are paired up and don’t stray too far from their mates… most of them anyway.  The breeding plumage is evident and wonderful to watch.  All in all, today was just a great day where I saw many species including Northern harrier, hooded mergansers (all female), golden-crowned sparrow, great blue heron, red-tailed hawk, black-capped chickadee, Northern shoveler, tundra swans and, I believe, an American bittern scurrying into tall grass before I got a good look.  These and other species filled my day and my memory card.  Here are a few of my favorite images.

 

Leave a Reply

