Harbinger of Spring

Trillium are some of the first wildflowers to appear each Spring.  Around here I’ve seen them as early as the beginning of March.  I make a mental note to start really looking for them about March 15.  Yesterday I took a hike in Forest Park near our house and noticed that the trillium were up along the trail. Some had matured and were looking ragged.  Others were tight buds that will open any time now.  I went back today with the camera and time to enjoy the blossoms along with an occasional snippet of conversation as hikers or runners passed by.  Everyone was enjoying this beautiful day.  I know I was.

Trillium

Leave a Reply

