Brrrrrrrr……

You never really know how things are going to turn out.  I live in Portland, Oregon and we are experiencing an abnormal period of cold temperatures… like WAY cold.  OK, it’s not Montana cold but single digit temperatures in the Willamette Valley are not normal.  I really feel for my friends in Eugene where the temperatures have been below zero.  Go figure.  Suffice it to say that it is COLD.

Back to the theme of this post… the unexpected.  Eric and I had planned a trip to Ridgefield National Wildlife Refuge last Friday.  He even went to great lengths to make this happen by taking a vacation day from work and renting a 600mm lens.  We woke to cold temperatures and reports of snow and many auto accidents north of Portland.  It didn’t take me too long to figure out that I was not venturing out on an adventure and advised Eric to proceed alone… safely.  He did.  He got to the refuge and found it closed.  It stayed closed Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  I’m sure the birds and wildlife didn’t care but the folks who are responsible for safety made a judgement and closed the area.

Eric texted me later Friday night and asked if I was interested in heading into the Gorge to shoot some icy waterfalls.  I’ve always wanted to do this but resisted due to a lack of spirit for solo adventures during bad weather and took his offer without much hesitation.  We piled into his luxury Mercedes E class (oh yeah) and headed into the Gorge early Saturday AM.  First stop was Multnomah Falls.  The deck was icy but not unsafe.  Several other photographers had the view pretty well occupied so I set the camera up and waited until one moved off.  I didn’t even have to use my favorite ploy of loudly announcing “Boy, I think I’ll go get some hot coffee and a good breakfast”…  Americans never like to miss a meal you know.  I took my place when a nice lady moved out and proceeded to shoot several bracketed shots of the falls.  The light wasn’t harsh at all but I figured having some brackets would allow HDR if needed.  Below is the first (maybe only) processed image from the set.  It mostly works.

Multnomah Falls, Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, Oregon
Multnomah Falls, Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, Oregon

We moved on to shoot Horsetail Falls and then looped back for coffee at the Lodge and on to Latourell Falls.  I’m not thrilled with the images from these falls but have not given them enough attention to know if I can make them presentable with post processing.  Time will tell.

By the way, Eric, my blog link to Facebook was disconnected so the posts were not showing up as you mentioned.  Thanks.

 

One thought on “Brrrrrrrr……

Leave a Reply

