100 Birds – #20

Only four of the seven species of chickadees in North America are likely to be seen.  The other 3 species are limited to far northern latitudes or small geographic ranges in Mexico. In the western United States we get to see the Chestnut-backed Chickadee, the Mountain Chickadee and the bird shown in this photograph – the Black-capped Chickadee.

When I first started posting bird photos to Google+ I was told by one prominent site moderator that I’d quickly learn that chickadee images are always crowd pleasers.  It reminded me of another saying that I first heard at a workshop with photographer John Shaw.  John was talking about the commercial aspects of nature photography when he said “Adorable sells”. The chickadee certainly falls into the group of cute, likeable or adorable birds. They don’t migrate great distances and it is possible to see them all year if you live in a favorable location.  Their call is easy to distinguish and their fast, frequent flights around an area draw your eye to them fairly easily. As a photographer I am always happy to see chickadees since they tend to sit still longer than other small birds.  I’m not saying that they pose for extended periods but compared to a kinglet or wren the chickadee seems to stay put a bit longer.

This photo was taken in the backyard of our old house in Portland, Oregon.  We put out feeders for the birds and welcomed them to our small patio.  I spent way too much time sitting at the doorway to the patio waiting for birds to come in and perch on one of the many perches that were there naturally or on one or more that I’d positioned to provide good photo backgrounds.  The perch in the photo is a stick that was located next to a tree rose in a pot on the patio.  I was always amazed to see a bird perch on top of the skinny, rough stick when they had smooth, more horizontal perches easily available.

To entertain myself and pursue high quality images I invested in a device known as a CamRanger (http://camranger.com/).  This little device connects to the camera which is placed on a tripod and positioned near the perch of choice. The CamRanger makes its own little WiFi network that can be connected to a smart phone WiFi settings. The CamRanger app lets you sit inside and control focus, exposure and remotely trigger the shutter.  The fact that a person is not evident to the birds is a HUGE advantage to capturing good photos.  Of course there is the limit to the scene that is observed at any given time but controlling focus and exposure while you sit on the couch reading and relaxing has a lot going for it.  Since the time I bought the CamRanger they have added a motorized tripod top that allows you to pan the camera as well as control exposure and shutter.  Those who know me know that I enjoy such things and can appreciate that there is one sitting in my camera storage area.  Someday soon it will come out to play in the Wenatchee area.

I suspect that some who read this post will find the process by which the photo was taken to be unethical or ill advised.  Many people resent “baiting” birds for photographs but I don’t know any people who don’t condone bird feeders in their own yards or nearby.  So yes, I drew the bird into the area by long term access to feed, I provided it a place to perch that I could use to get a nice photo (IMHO) and I sat in the comfort of my own house watching the screen on my iPhone and reading as I waited for a bird to land in front of the camera.  Then it was just a matter of tapping the screen on the bird’s eye to set the focus point and pressing the button to trigger the shutter. Click.  Job done.  Without this explanation you’d be hard pressed to know that this is not a quick capture in the woods somewhere.  The viewing reaction is what is important and I hope you agree that this is a cute little bird. Remember, adorable sells.  You can call me or email me.  Just kidding… or not.

20130712_152933_013

 

2 thoughts on “100 Birds – #20

Leave a Reply

